Curriculum Overview

Our personalised approach to the curriculum is a unique way of ensuring the quality of our teaching is consistently high and that pupils develop the skills needed to meet or exceed their personal targets.   

From Early Years through to Year 6, we use a Learning and Relationship Agreement to set clear expectations and goals.   

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum covers seven areas of learning and development. Everything is underpinned by three prime areas: communication and language, physical development, and personal, social and emotional development. In addition, there are four specific areas; literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive arts and design, through which the prime areas are applied.   

Phonics is taught using letters and sounds. In Key Stage 1, children follow the National Curriculum which covers English, mathematics, science, design and technology, history, geography, art and design, music, physical education, computing, PSHCE and religious studies. The curriculum is extended in Key Stage 2 to include a modern foreign language which at Hill View Academy is Spanish. Children also go swimming once a week as part of their physical education in Year 3. Subjects are taught through Big Question Learning Challenges linked to a whole-class text.   

We are passionate about delivering a curriculum that is engaging, creative and challenging for all children.  

Curriculum Overviews

White Rose Maths EYFS

White Rose Maths KS1 and KS2

Scroll to Top